July 1st. 2015 - AB 1522 Paid Sick Leave - For All Employees in California.
The law : “You can take paid leave for you or a family member for preventive care or care of an existing health condition or for specified purposes if you are a victim of domestic violence, sexual assault or stalking. Family members include the employee’s parent, child, spouse, registered domestic partner, grandparent, grandchild, and sibling. Preventive care would include annual physicals or flu shots. For partial days, your employer can require you to take at least two hours of leave, but otherwise the determination of how much time is needed is left to the employee.” The only exception to this appears to be for the use of AB 1522 paid sick leave for victims of domestic violence, sexual assault, or stalking as AB 1522 references Labor Code sections 230 and 230.1, which do allow an employer to request certification for unscheduled absences.
An employee qualifies for paid sick leave by
working for an employer on or after January 1, 2015, for at least 30 days
within a year in California and by satisfying a 90 day employment period (which
works like a probationary period) before an employee can actually take any sick
leave. If you work less than 30 days in California within a year, then you are
not entitled to be paid sick leave under this new law. The 90 day period works
like a probationary period. Although you begin to accrue paid sick leave
on July 1, 2015, or your first day of employment if you are hired after July 1,
2015, if you work less than 90 days for your employer, you are not entitled to
take paid sick leave. A qualifying employee begins to accrue paid sick leave
beginning on July 1, 2015, or if hired after that date on the first day of
employment. An employee is entitled to use (take) paid sick leave only
after meeting the qualifications for paid sick leave and accruing enough paid sick leave time to
use for one of the stated purposes of the law. An employee who works at least
30 days within a year in California, including part-time, per diem, and
temporary employees, are covered by this new law with some specific exceptions.
Starting July 1, 2015, employees will earn at
least one hour of paid leave for every 30 hours worked. That works out to
a little more than eight days a year for someone who works full time. But
employers can limit the amount of paid sick leave you can take in one year to 24
hours (three days).
Refer to: http://www.dir.ca.gov/dlse/Paid_Sick_Leave.htm
January 1st. 2016 - California minimum wage rised to $10.00 hr. see https://www.dir.ca.gov/iwc/MinimumWageHistory.htm